The nomination list for the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards is out and the films 2 States and Haider have the most nominations, with nine and eight respectively.

Rajkumar Hirani’s hit film PK, which stars Aamir Khan, received a total of six nominations.

In a press release, Andre Timmins, director of Wizcraft International Entertainment (the producer of IIFA), said: “It has been a spectacular year for Indian cinema across genres of films and a multitude of talent on and off screen. Some of the biggest films are contending for awards this year and the nominations reflect the talent and achievements of our Indian film industry.”

This year, the annual event will be held at Stadium Putra in Kuala Lumpur over three days (June 5 to 7).

The nominees in leading role (male) are Shah Rukh Khan (Happy New Year), Aamir (PK), Hrithik Roshan (Bang Bang), Arjun Kapoor (2 States), Shahid Kapoor (Haider) and Randeep Hooda (Highway).

Meanwhile the actresses who received nominations for their performances in the leading role are Deepika Padukone (Happy New Year), Priyanka Chopra (Mary Kom), Rani Mukherji (Mardaani), Anushka Sharma (PK), Kangana Ranaut (Queen) and Alia Bhatt (2 States).

Here are some of the other nominees:

Best supporting role (male): Ronit Roy (2 States), Ritesh Deshmukh (Ek Villain), Kay Kay Menon (Haider), Randeep Hooda (Kick), Inaamulhaq (Filmistaan) and Naseeruddin Shah (Finding Fanny)

Best supporting role (female): Tabu (Haider), Amrita Singh (2 States), Lisa Haydon (Queen), Juhi Chawla (Gulaab Gang) and Huma Quresh (Dedh Ishqiya)

Best director: Vikas Bahl (Queen), Vishal Bhardwaj (Haider), Rajkumar Hirani (PK), Abishek Varman (2 States) and Imtiaz Ali (Highway)

Comic role: Sharib Hashmi (Filmistaan), Sanjay Dutt (PK), Varun Dhawan (Main Tera Hero), Govinda (Happy Ending)

Negative role: Ritesh Deshmukh (Ek Villain), Nawazuddin Siddiqui (Kick) and Kay Kay Menon (Haider)

Recently, too, IIFA announced the winners in the technical categories:

Cinematography: Binod Pradhan (2 States)

Screenplay: Vikas Bahl, Chaitally Parmar, Parveez Shaikh (Queen)

Dialogue: Abhijat Joshi & Rajkumar Hirani (PK)

Editing: Anurag Kashyap & Abhijit Kokate (Queen)

Production Design: Subrata Chakraborty & Amit Ray (Haider)

Choreography: Ahmed Khan (Jumme Ki Raat Kick)

Action: Parvez Shaikh & Andy Armstrong (Bang Bang)

Sound Design: Shajith Koyeri (Haider)

Song Recording: Eric Pillai (Teri Galiyaan Ek Villain)

Sound Mixing: Debajit Changmai (Haider)

Special Effects (Visuals): Reupal Rawal – Prime Focus (Kick)

Background Score: Vishal Bhardwaj (Haider)

Costume Designing: Dolly Ahluwalia (Haider)

Make-Up: Preetisheel Singh & Clover Wootton (Haider)