Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and My Little Pony are but two of a dozen contenders for this year's National Toy Hall of Fame.

There are two inductee spots for this year at the National Toy Hall of Fame at The Strong National Museum of Play in Rochester, New York. And there are 12 contenders who will have to fight to their death to win eternal fame. The nominees are:  

1. American Girl dolls
2. Bubbles
3. Fisher-Price Little People by Mattel
4. Hess Toy Trucks
5. Little green army men
6. My Little Pony by Hasbro Inc
7. Operation Skill Game by Hasbro Inc
8. Paper aeroplane
9. Pots and pans
10. Rubik’s Cube
11. Slip’N Slide by Wham-O
12. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

“All these toys are toys that have been around for some time,” says Patricia Hogan, curator of toys and dolls at the private museum devoted to the history and exploration of play.. “They are not a passing fad and are well known, well remembered, and well revered.”

The two winning inductees, to be announced on Nov 6, will join the Hall of Fame, which so far has 53 members including Barbie, G.I. Joe, Monopoly and Mr Potato Head. Last year’s winners were the game of chess and the rubber duck.

Meanwhile, this year's finalists were culled from thousands of submissions worldwide by a museum advisory committee, and a national selection committee of educators, academics, collectors and experts will choose the winners.

The winning toys must be widely recognised, foster learning, incite creativity or discovery through play and be popular for decades or longer. Toys don’t necessarily have to be patented. In recent years, the museum has recognised objects that have fascinated children such as the blanket, the cardboard box and the stick. – Reuters